A Snowy Proposal

I was asked to photograph a proposal! I was so excited for the couple, yet nervous about photographing my first proposal. This past week has been full of me trying to work out minor details in my head and having this expectation of how I wanted everything to go and what pictures I wanted to capture. I am almost positive the details we work out in our heads and play back over and over never actually happen.

I went down to the location about a week before the event to get a better idea of what I was working with; the precise location, the lighting, and the where everyone was going to be at throughout the night. Originally my only worry was figuring out the lighting at night without using flash. A few days later the I realized there was high chance of rain, so trying to prepare things to protect my equipment. Then a day or two before they were calling for part II of Snowmageddon 2015 and I was worried about everyone getting down to The Big Four Bridge at the Louisville Waterfront Park with the weather coming.

Everything on my end didn’t go exactly as I had planned, but she said yes, and I was able to capture a few special moments for the couple! I would say the night was definitely successful!

Jim-Lisa7Looking back there are moments I wish I could’ve, would’ve, should’ve captured and things I wish I would have prepared for more. The opportunity to not only be part of this special moment, but to be trusted photographing it, and ultimately getting practice with “real-life” and not that ‘oh wait, can you go back to that spot right there for another minute’ photography was amazing, yet stressful to say the least.

jim-lisa4With any art, profession, or hobby you always have this idea of what you want your outcome to be and when you don’t meet your exceptions you become slightly disappointed. This causes us to lose focus of everything we did right and everything that went well. We’re our own worst critics. Mistakes were made and I learned a few things, but overall I believe they were happy with the overall outcome of the pictures.

Kameo.

Leave a comment